today I like them scrambled

mmm… breakfast

There’s nothing better than sleeping in, putting on a pot of coffee, whipping up a magical morning meal, and reading the paper – all the while being in my pj’s and NOT waiting an hour for a fancy brunch scene. Don’t get me wrong, I do like a good meal out to start my day sometimes, but for me Sunday’s are mostly about being a bit lazy. Not to mention, a good egg dish can be simple and is totally within reach for the home chef – enter today’s meal.
I found this recipe Saturday morning and surprisingly had most of the ingredients already in my fridge. So a quick trip to the store and I was good to go Sunday morning for one heck of a breakfast. It also allowed me to try a technique I’d been wanting to try – years ago I saw a video of Gordon Ramsay cooking luscious scrambled eggs in a sauce pot and was always so curious about it…
In this case I scrambled the eggs in a double boiler, a delicate cooking method, which makes them super creamy and really quite amazing. Tarragon isn’t a go-to herb for me, but it truly brightens up this dish and in case you didn’t know, asparagus and eggs are BFF – so a natural pairing to throw both onto toast.
I’ll definitely try this again because with a touch of imagination, this technique is going to bring a whole new meaning to my lazy Sunday morning breakfasts.
Creamy Double-Boiler Eggs with Chevre and Asparagus*
2 tablespoons Butter
4 Eggs
1/2 teaspoon Dried Tarragon
1/4 cup Heavy Cream
2 oz Goat Cheese
Salt & Pepper to taste
Prep the double-boiler (DB): boiling water bottom, pot on top not touching the water (a metal bowl on top will do just fine, if you don’t have a proper DB)
Melt the butter in the DB
Different bowl – whisk the eggs, tarragon & cream
Sprinkle in the cheese, salt & pepper – whisk again
Pour into DB, and using a spatula, mix it around while it cooks (takes about 10 min to be done)
Asparagus: do what you gotta do – saute, boil, broil, whatever you like best.
Make it look pretty on some toast and dig in!
* recipe adapted from Good Meat
2 thoughts on “today I like them scrambled

Leave a Reply

