too minty for me

I just received the May issue of BA and realized that I haven’t written about anything from April yet! The reason being twofold – 1) I never received the April issue, some confusion with my new address 2) The recipe I made was pretty underwhelming. Nevertheless, I will tell you about it because cooking is about trial and error.

I scanned my parents copy of the magazine last weekend and settled on Quinoa and Spring Vegetable Pilaf, sounds good, right? Not so much. To be fair, I’m pretty sure my disappointment came from the fact that I just don’t really like mint. I love me a good mojito but mint in my food (or with chocolate in my candy) is not always my thing…

It sure looks pretty. Quinoa with asparagus, mushrooms, peas, leeks and shallots – all of which I love. The twist however comes in that you blend some peas, veggie stock and mint to create a sauce for the whole dish. The concept is great, seeing as that there is flavor infused in each bite of the quinoa instead of just waiting for the bite with veggie. The downside for me was the mint because again, it was infused in each bite of the quinoa! There was something about it that just didn’t work for me.
This recipe was my first attempt at quinoa and it really made me want to try quinoa in other ways. It’s a nutty chenpod (so Wikipedia tells me) that is a great alternative to rice or couscous. There’s a little more texture and flavor than either of those two grains and I think it would be great with some feta a cucumber and tomato, or raisins and nuts for a middle eastern twist.
quinoa pre-cooking
I’m all about trying things that are not your favorite, because maybe there’ll be that one time when you will love it. So I’m glad I tried this; however, I did learn a lesson – when you’re cooking for one, preparing a dish that serves 6 may not be the best idea… just in case you don’t like it 🙂
Leave a Reply

