voilà an omelette

From underwhelming to just right – I’m going to write about breakfast. Again.

Eggs are amazing and I’ve been eating them a lot lately. Scrambles and egg sandwiches for dinner, breakfast burritos… You name it I’ve been eating it. Typically after a night out all I can muster is a simple scramble the next morning, but last weekend I was extra inspired and decided to make an omelette.

Let me be the first to tell you, I have no actual knowledge about how one is ‘supposed to’ make an omelette, but I made it work. Yes, there’s a hole, but trial and error, right? I have a vague recollection of seeing people do this on TV and moving the pan really fast or something, but on a tired morning that was a little more than I could handle.
I was most familiar with what my mom used to do, so here’s how I did it –
  • scramble 2 eggs in bowl
  • heat 8″ pan w/butter (nonstick saved my life)
  • pour in eggs
  • as they set, use a spatula to lift up the set eggs and let the runny eggs flow underneath
  • it’s ok if you make holes, just let the runny eggs fill it and cool, be patient
  • once most of the egg is set, place your fillings on one half – I had cheddar and avocado in the fridge
  • fold over the other side
Et voilà! An omelette! Or at least something that will taste good, look fancier than a scramble and just perhaps pass as an omelette.
I’ll have to do a little more research on proper technique and report back, but for now I’m going to go with what works for me and tastes great too.
Leave a Reply

