Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

I have a secret to share with you… Up until last Saturday, I hadn’t cooked anything in a month. I know, I know, how could I have let this happen?? Well, it was a combination of dates, pre-travel I-don’t-want-to-buy-anything-because-I’m-leaving, during travel I’m-not-cooking-because-I’m-on-vacation, post travel laziness and a new-found fondness for ordering in after being in NYC. But FINALLY it happened. My sister came up for the night to keep me company at a concert, and the next morning I treated us to light and fluffy Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, and man, did it feel good.

These were high maintenance pancakes, but it felt oh so right to be whisking, blending, straining, beating, ladling, flipping, serving and EATING! Now, I’m not really a pancake girl – I think they get soggy, I can never get them airy at home, and I can’t get them to just the right golden, but nonetheless these pancakes spoke to me in the September issue. A light citrus note and cheesy goodness, what could be wrong?

In fact, nothing went wrong – aside from the fact that they were a little darker than I would have liked. But I loved the fact that you don’t have to serve with syrup, berries with sugar and lemon juice are the perfect complement. And the fact that there are ‘pockets of ricotta’ exactly as the recipe claimed there would be, made each bite a surprise. Ricotta is really mildly flavored with super soft texture that worked really well in this morning staple, and low and behold, I finally made a light and fluffy pancake! It must have been the beaten egg whites. Definitely worth the steps, they were a lovely welcome back to my kitchen, and a great start to making me a home-made pancake convert.

Leave a Reply

