Gimme S’more

The last s’more I made was earlier this year in the oven. Desperate for something sweet, and making do with what was available, puffing a marshmallow and melting some chocolate unter the boiler rather than over a fire seemed like a great idea – and if I’m perfectly honest with you, it was still pretty darn good. The s’mores flavors are a classic and will never get old, but there is definitely something lacking when you don’t have the campfire char and aren’t using a stick to cook your food.

I was given the opportunity to rough it a touch this weekend, while participating as a counselor at a high school leadership camp. It was an awesome experience and surprisingly moving to see all these kids open up over the weekend, but on top of a positive emotional and physically exhausting weekend I was inspired to even try ‘cooking’ something new. The day of the campfire my co-counselor casually mentioned a Reese’s peanut butter cup s’more. WHAT?!?! Marshmallow, chocolate AND peanut butter?? My world was rocked. I’m pretty sure I’d fantasized about derivations of s’mores before + nutella, + melted chocolate, + flavored marshmallows, but this was a small revelation and one I needed to make happen that night. It did. It was amazing.

My recommendations:

  • Use TWO marshmallows to balance out the thickness of the PB cup
  • If there is a way to melt the PB cup a bit near the fire while the marshmallow is roasting – do it!
  • Smoosh it all together and let it sit for a minute to let the heat of the marshmallow soften up the PB cup
It was just as good as I’d imagined it would be, and I will definitely be exploring more s’more options the next time I’m sitting around a fire. If you follow the above recommendations while toasting your marshmallow to your desired level of brown (or char) I guaranteed you will have an ooey, gooey, melty, crunchy, sweet, salty, divine mess on your hands that will make you feel like a kid again.
3 thoughts on “Gimme S’more

Leave a Reply

