Raspberry Upside Down Cake

I saw this recipe several months ago and have been dying to make it ever since. There are only so many reasons for a single gal to make a cake, and dinner club on Sunday was a wonderful excuse. Originally, I wanted to make a blueberry tart with the last of the season’s fruit, but alas they were gone by the time I got to the farmers market (next summer it will be for that recipe), there were however, still loads of strawberries and raspberries.

Upon seeing these seasonal gems, I instantly recalled the buttermilk cake and figured I’d just replace the blackberries with the raspberries, which was a winning combination. The buttermilk and cake flour keep this cake moist and really smooth, while the orange zest is a welcome bright note in the base that keeps things interesting. I love the fact that this cake looks impressive and is still packed with flavor without being smothered in frosting or overly sweet – just the way I want to end my Sunday.

One thought on “Raspberry Upside Down Cake

Leave a Reply

