Breakfast Sandwich Woes

I want to tell you a story…

There once was a girl who worked at Gap. While she didn’t buy breakfast at work all the time, she really really loved getting a breakfast sandwich sometimes.

Despite being a little obsessed with fresh, good quality food, she like the commercial simplicity of it – English muffin, egg, sausage patty, American cheese. She knew it was wrong to like the processed meltiness, but never one to be too high on her horse, she enjoyed it as part of this morning bundle.

The only thing holding her back from having them more often was the fact that a) they were overpriced and b) they weren’t that good for her.

One morning, she came into the office craving some sustenance for the day. But alas the sandwich she knew she shouldn’t love but did had been changed!! Now 15% more expensive and gourmet (Gruyère, sourdough bread, & ham) she was brokenhearted. Under normal circumstances gourmet would be amazing, but she wanted what she was used to and there was no way she was going to pay more (the cafe already got enough of her money) or take the old sandwich without meat for the same old price. Taking personal offense to the alterations, she decided to boycott the morning grill.

She explored other options in the blocks surrounding her office, and while she found quasi-sufficient replacements, she still pines away for the cafe to bring back breakfast…

In my effort to assuage my breakfast sandwich wounds, I made this AMAZING meal the other night. While I’m not willing to pay my cafe for a gourmet breakfast sandwich, I sure as heck will make one for myself. Fresh baguette toasted with salted butter and Havarti cheese, already soft and ready to get melty, anchored the bottom. I topped with Polish sausage and a perfectly fried egg on top with a sprinkling of fresh rosemary. YUM.

I love a runny yolk and how it squirts only the plate to be soaked up with the toast and sandwich. I love how you can actually taste the salted butter and how the rosemary makes it comforting. I love how this breakfast for dinner sandwich makes me (almost) forget what used to be the occasional little delight at the beginning of my work day.

5 thoughts on “Breakfast Sandwich Woes

  1. Wow, sounds delish and is making me hungry. You have a great way with words and describing food to a tee… love it. Let me know if you ever find good recipes for olive oil and balsamic vinegar — I’ll link to your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

