Sweet Potato Bread

So often I feel like I am bad about letting things go to waste. On occasion there are things in my CSA box that I just don’t manage to squeeze in, or I make too much for one person and have to toss things that aren’t consumed in time (or more likely, I chuck out the rest of what I’ve made that not good for me, because were it to remain in my house I would eat copious amounts of it and either a) get sick b) fat – yes, I’m still working on self control). This past weekend though, I decided to take full advantage of having leftovers and made a sweet potato bread with mashed sweet potatoes I had previously taken to dinner club.

Scallops were on the dinner club menu, so I made a bed of sweet potatoes for then. I added butter, cream, and just touches of brown sugar, lemon and chili, and while the overall result was rich it was also relatively mild – making them the perfect addition to some sort of other dish. I wanted to go a totally different direction with then, so I found a pumpkin bread recipe and subbed the canned pureed pumpkin ingredient with my potatoes. It worked out delightfully and ended up being the perfect breakfast on a cold rainy morning.

The bread was light and not as dense as a pound cake, super moist and had subtle notes of ginger, which I really enjoyed. There was a great crust from the massive amount of sugar in the recipe and yet the bread itself was not overly sweet. I doled out slices to friends (in an effort to not waste, yet again) and the feedback was that it didn’t even make it 24 hours before being gobbled up.

I hope you’ll take some inspiration the next time you have some leftovers and try to think outside the box (or pan) about what else they may be able to do for you. You’d be surprised at just how versatile your dishes can be!

BEFORE

AFTER

Sweet Potato Bread*

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup sweet potato puree (or left over mashed sweet potatoes)
  • 2 large eggs

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Butter or spray a 9-inch loaf pan with cooking spray (I also lined mine with parchment, spraying the pan and the paper).

Mix together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and ginger in a small bowl.

Beat the butter, sugar, and oil on high speed until light and fluffy, about 1 minute – scrape down the bowl a couple times.

Add the pumpkin puree, mix until combined. Add the eggs, one at a time, and mix until just incorporated. Mixing on low speed, slowly add the flour mixture and 2/3 cup water and mix until just combined.

Spread the batter into the prepared pan and bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool completely.

*Recipe very slightly adapted from Bobby Flay recipe here
4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Bread

Leave a Reply

