Berry Roasted Pork Tenderloin

I can’t belive this is the first pork dish on the blog. Because, the thing is, I really like pork -tenderloin, pulled pork, chops and on occasion, some ribs. It’s just that it can be a bit challenging: depending on the cut and preparation you risk drying out; to brine not to brine.  There are quite a few things to consider. That said, I thought it was finally time to challenge myself and give it a go! Truthfully, I have an idea for another recipe and I figured I’d better get a practicing. So here we go: Berry Roasted Pork Tenderloin.

I love tenderloin cuts of meat. For a long time (specifically those pesky middle school years) I hated meat because of the fat. It just grossed me out. To this day I am very peculiar about what I like, but have become more accepting of meat in general, while leaning toward leaner, whiter meats – putting pork tenderloin right up my ally. I found the base for this recipe in my America’s Test Kitchen Cooking For Two cookbook, which I will be telling you more about later. It was originally supposed to be all cranberries, but seeing as that me and my corner store couldn’t come up with all the cranberry goods, I substituted with various berry ingredients and am really happy with how it turned out.

The sauce has black berry jam (homemade by my dad) cranberry sauce and fresh strawberries. It was thick and powerful, and while a bit sweet this first time, it went really well with the pork. I think you could make a dozen different varieties of this, so I’d encourage you to mix is up and throw some things together that you think would go well together! Below is the recipe I used, with a couple of suggestions on how I might suggest mixing it up. But overall, for me, this was a new and exciting flavor profile for pork that I will definitely be trying it again.

Berry Roasted Pork Tenderloin

  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 1 cup cranberry juice (could substitute part of this with red wine)
  • 1/2 cup blackberry jam
  • 3 tsp balsamic vinegar (could increase the amount of vinegar)
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries (could use a variety of different berries)
  • 1 ~24oz pork tenderloin

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Heat oil in an oven proof pan and add garlic and thyme until fragrant, abt 30 seconds. Add Juice, jam, vinegar and mustard. Simmer until slightly thickened. Pat pork dry and season with salt and pepper. Nestle tenderloin into liquid and transfer pan to oven. Cook until done (suggested for pork is 140-145 degrees). I cooked mine about 30 min and it was perfectly pink inside, whether or not that is 140-145, I don’t know… Remove pork and let rest 10 min, covered with foil tent. Season sauce with salt and pepper and keep warm until pork is done resting. Slice pork to serve and serve with sauce.

3 thoughts on “Berry Roasted Pork Tenderloin

Leave a Reply

