Europe 2012: Belgium

Every time I go back to Europe I try to do something or go someplace new. After living in Germany and traveling pretty well for a year, I’ve checked most major cities and sights off my list, but feel like it’s a waste to go all that way and not try to see something special and new each time I go.

When I was first planning this trip, I had grand visions of hopping down to Portugal’s beaches, or Frances west coast, but at the end of the day in the spirit of an easy relaxing vacation, I decided to keep all my distances just a train’s trip apart, which led me to Belgium. I had been to Antwerp for lunch on a road trip several years back just so I could say I’d been there, but I felt like the land of waffles, beer and chocolate could use another tour. I stayed in Brussels, in a fabulous Airbnb apartment, and spent one day touring that city and the next in Bruges. Bruges is an absolutely charming town one hour west of Brussels and is definitely worth a visit. Yes, it was very touristy, especially on a Saturday, but the canals and Dutch style buildings won me over.

All in all, I was definitely happy with my solo time in Belgium. I did love the waffles, tried a ton of new beers and relaxed the way I do best.

Highlights:

  • Musée Magritte, Brussels – get the audio tour, as most of the museum is in French or Flemish
  • Bruges – walk around, soak it in, have lunch
  • Lunch boutique, Bruges – cool, trendy lunch spot away from the main square
  • Spotting cartoon murals in Brussels
  • You must try the waffles, beer and chocolates – you can’t go wrong!

BRUSSELS

cartoon murals throughout Brussels

Manneken Pis – why he is famous and costumed this day, I don’t know

St. Gilles neighborhood where I stayed, away from the beaten path

sunset from my host’s kitchen

BRUGES

6 thoughts on “Europe 2012: Belgium

  1. Your pictures always inspire me. I loved the architecture pictures…especially the dutch buildings with their intricate plaster work that mimics lace! Remember our trip to Germany and we saw houses exactly like that , it was an area in a town that had been settled by the dutch…where we were exactly I could not say!

    Like

  2. I know you wrote this a while ago, but I’m so glad I just found it! My husband and I are planning a trip to Amsterdam and Belgium this summer and this makes me very excited. Love the photos and thanks for the tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

