Cook the Book: Baked Apples

When I was in second grade I did a report on New Zealand. I wrote the consulate for information on its country and got a whole packet of documents in response. Now, 20+ years later, what do I remember? Only that I made baked apples (with a recipe from the consulate’s packet) for an international pot luck related to that assignment.

Seeing baked apples in the breakfast book instantly brought back this memory and I knew I would be baking apples for this post. The baked apples I remember making long ago had cinnamon and sugar and in general were a little more involved, but Marion’s were as simple as can be, per her entire ethos around this book. A lemon simple syrup is poured over the apples, then they are covered and baked until tender. What comes out is like a solid apple sauce, the apple slightly broken down, but mostly solid and in tact. The natural sweetness of the apple is highlighted with a bit of sugar, but cut with the touch of lemon so no bite is overwhelmingly sweet.

I don’t know about you, but baked apples are not necessarily the first thing I think of for breakfast, so I had mine for dessert after dinner… But as I was eating it, it did occur to me that it would be rather good plopped on a bed of oatmeal or as a warm side contrasting a cold cereal. No matter what time of day you decide to eat these, it is definitely going to be one of the easiest, most natural ways to highlight my favorite fruit of the fall season.

This is part of cook the book, so be sure to see what fruity delights RachelAimeeNatasha, and Claudie are cooking up!

Baked Apples (for one)

  • 1 farm fresh apple
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 strip of lemon peel
  • additional sugar for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Cut off the top 1/8 inch of the apple and core. Place in baking dish. Heat water, sugar and lemon peel in pan until boiling and sugar is dissolved. Pour over apple and cover dish (with lid or foil). Bake for 30 min or until apples are easily pierced with a sharp knife. Spoon baking syrup on top and sprinkle with sugar if desired.

2 thoughts on “Cook the Book: Baked Apples

  1. Looks like a great easy dessert or snack ! I do laugh a bit at the idea of you contacting a country by mail then receiving papers back by main full of information for you to sort through. Thank you internet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

