Europe 2012: J’aime Paris

Paris, how I love you… The very first place I ever went in Europe was Paris. My parents took my sister and I on a two-week European vacation back in 1994? 1996? No matter… We spent a week in Paris staying in an apartment on the Îls Saint-Louis, and a week in London. In Paris, it was amazing being able to walk to the bakery every morning for fresh croissants, get fresh gelato at one of the best shops and walk all over this amazing quintessential European city. I have since returned once, during my nanny year, and was just as thrilled with this place.

On this visit, I just wanted to live. My friend Kendra flew out and met me for a few days and we stayed in an apartment near the Notre Dame (touristy, but central) – we ate well and walked around soaking it all in. Her friend Judith came towards the end of my stay and together we treated ourselves to lunch at the restaurant of the Top Chef France 2012 winner. There was nothing super elaborate about this visit. No wild nights, no long lines for museums, but it was everything I wanted. When I told people I was going to Paris it was solely with the purpose of walking around and eating croissants & baguettes all day long, which is exactly what we did. Highlights included:

  • the view from top of the Arc de Triomphe
  • walking around Monmartre
  • croissants and coffee for breakfast
  • Le Grande Epicerie at Le Bon Marché
  • Laduree macaroons (especially the vanilla one)
  • lunch at l’ACAJOU (Top Chef winner Jean Imbert’s restaurant)
  • finally vising Shakespeare & Co.
  • learning that a savory crepe is called a galette
  • From previous visits: Musée Rodin and Musée d’Orsay

2 thoughts on “Europe 2012: J’aime Paris

Leave a Reply

