Potato & Artichoke Salad

I have a new man in my life, and he’s been taking up a lot of time. Here are a few things about him: He loves pate and steak. He’s a ginger. He LOVES to play. He also loves to share my bed and couch, and cuddle really close to my face in the middle of the night… Any ideas? Anyhow, I’m hosting a partying in a couple of weeks to introduce him to my friends, so I’ll have some photos for you soon, but until then, photos of this potato and artichoke salad will have to suffice.

I love all sorts of potato salads from creamy, like this one, to vinegary and tart like German Potato Salad. I had intended to make a German style potato salad a while ago, but it never happened and I was re-inspired after having one at Heyday (this new awesome lunch spot by my office) that added artichokes to the mix. I’d picked up some smaller spring artichokes at the farmers market and did a little research about how to make a true German potato salad. I loved the sound of the recipe in Luisa Weiss’s My Berlin Kitchen (great read BTW, I highly recommend it) but it was a little more complicated than I had time for on a week night, so I simply made a salad dressing. I know. Go figure.

The result was GREAT. Nice and vinegary, with a touch of mustard and sweetness coming from every bite of artichoke. Be sure to dress the potatoes and artichokes while they are still warm so they absorb all that goodness. The salad is great both warm and cold.

IMG_4289

Potato & Artichoke Salad:

Those of you who have been reading for a while, probably know I’m not the best recipe developer or direction-hand-holder so I hope you’ll bear with this ‘recipe’ as it’s really just a list of recommendations.

  • Prep your artichokes, I used about 3 medium sides one and quartered them. If yours are smaller buy more and just halve them. Great prep advice from Bon Appetit here
  • Cut and boil a handful of baby red new potatoes, until tender. I love the flavor, texture and color contrast of these.
  • Saute the artichokes until tender – use a medium heat and keep and eye on them, as you don’t want them getting too dark. I would do this while the potatoes are cooking because it’ll take a little while 15 min or so.
  • Make your dressing! You know the drill: Vinegar+Dijon mustard+shallot+herbs+oil – I used champagne vinegar, but white wine, red wine, apple cider, or whatever is your go to would work well! Though I do feel that balsamic would be out of place here. I used oregano too, because it’s what I had on hand.
  • While the potatoes and artichokes are still warm, dress with the salad, salt and pepper and taste for adjustments. YUMMY!
3 thoughts on “Potato & Artichoke Salad

Leave a Reply

