Biscuits and Herbed Sausage Gravy

Years ago in San Francisco, I went to an unassuming brunch in Potrero Hill and had my mind blown by biscuits and gravy. Having my mind blown by just about anything is so rare these days, I was even more shocked that it was biscuits and gravy that did it.

The meal was an open face biscuit with a poached egg on each half, and the entire thing was smothered in a sausage gravy. The gravy was the most spectacular part, being chock full of herbs, which I have since described as a garden explosion in my mouth. I didn’t grow up on biscuits and gravy and it’s not a dish I have strong relationship with, but after that meal, when people ask about my favorite restaurants in SF, I’ve always mentioned Universal Cafe just because it gave me one of the most memorable meals I’ve had.

Since then, I’ve thought of recreating this dish so many times and it finally happened. A couple of Friday’s ago I took a staycation day and decided to start things off with a highly delectable breakfast. It was so so so good.

It’s amazing how simple it was and just how amazing it tasted – exactly like the garden explosion I had remembered so fondly for so long. I used parsley, sage and dill to brighten up the gravy and since I’ve finally got poached eggs down, it was the perfect combination. I highly recommend giving this a try. It’s rich and delicious and the perfect way to start out a special day.

IMG_6009IMG_8446IMG_6008

Biscuits: here. I used only a scant teaspoon of sugar and they tasted great.

Gravy:

  • 1/2 lb mild sausage
  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1 1/2-2 cups milk
  • 1 handful finely chopped parsley
  • ~ 2 tbsp sage
  • ~ 2 tbsp dill

Brown sausage in pan and remove. Depending on how much grease is remaining, add enough butter to make about 4 tbsp fat in the pan. Add the flour and stir thoroughly, cook for about a minute. Add a little more than half the milk, bring to a simmer over low heat. Continue to add milk until you have reached your preferred gravy consistency. Add back the sausage and fresh herbs. Continue to add milk if it’s too thick. Cook together for ~5 min to combine flavors.

One thought on “Biscuits and Herbed Sausage Gravy

Leave a Reply

