The Saturday Report: SF, wine country and Joni

You guys, I just had the most epic weekend in San Francisco. This could easily become a post of just that, but I will indulge you with a couple of other highlights too!

img_5446

VISIT San Francisco. It’s still home. Still comfortable. And on this trip, the wooing was quite strong, a fogless and cloudless city were only the start of a wonderful weekend. I was able to see several friends and wine and dine myself through the city, which was just what I needed. A quick recap of my favorite stops: Pastries from b. patisserie; the patio (and brunch on it) at The Tipsy Pig; Kokkari an SF institution I feel like is often not talked about, but worth every bite; drinks at Trick Dog (LOVED this atmosphere); dinner at Tartine Manufactory, this has been on my radar for a while, very good food and an awesome space; Butter, not for the faint of heart, a dive bar at it’s best with bacon shots, jello shots, and usually a good DJ.

VISIT Sonoma. There are so many wine country towns it can be hard to choose, but Sonoma is always a winner. I especially love Healdsburg and the Dry Creek Valley, but it’s 1.5 hrs away, which can really make the day feel long. Shaving off the 30 min to get to Sonoma makes it approachable and not an all day venture. We did a tasting on the patio at Gundlach Bundshu and actually enjoyed all the wines. We went to Bartholomew Park Winery after to picnic, wine not so good, but property is gorgeous and you can bring your own food. One of my favorite surprises of the day was coming across the original Williams-Sonoma store. As a former employee of the company I was sad to hear that Chuck Williams passed away a few years ago (at over 100 years old!), but was happy to have stumbled across this location so quaint and full of character. The Sonoma town square is charming and worth a walk around, and the surrounding streets between wineries are covered in trees, lined with beautiful homes and make a delightful day out of the city.

 

CALIFORNIA ~ joni mitchell

LISTEN Being in San Francisco and back in the lovely state of California made me think of the Joni Mitchell song. My mom really likes Joni, so I am familiar with some of her music, and I have always loved this one. It speaks to me as a native California with an affinity for European travel. I had just been thinking about this song while sitting in my SF guest room, when I heard it floating through the window from another apartment – what a delight. Having close neighbors isn’t all bad.

 

EAT il Posto. As if my list of SF to do’s didn’t have enough restaurants, here’s another stop – il Posto in Denver. They have a new location in Rino, and having not been to the other, I quite enjoyed it. I had a pasta with crab, leeks and asparagus, which was awesome. If you have not tried the pasta/leek/fish combo before, it really is a must. The space is striking as well, with several booths in the middle that feel like personal little cubbies due to their high upholstered walls. Can’t wait to go back and explore the menu a little more.

 

One thought on “The Saturday Report: SF, wine country and Joni

Leave a Reply

